YSR Congress complains over defected MLAs' cabinet induction

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Mon, Apr 03, 2017, 06:35 PM

Hyderabad, April 3 : Andhra Pradesh's opposition YSR Congress in Monday complained to the Governor over induction of four of its legislators who had defected to ruling TDP, in the state cabinet, terming it a mockery of democracy and the Constitution.

It urged Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan to either sack these ministers or insist on their resignations.

YSR Congress chief Y.S. Jaganmohan Reddy met the Governor at Raj Bhavan here and submitted a memorandum.

Narasimhan had Sunday administered oath to 11 new ministers at Amaravati, the Andhra Pradesh capital.

Jaganmohan Reddy told the Governor that N. Amarnath Reddy, C. Adinarayana Reddy, R. S. Krishna Ranga Rao and Bhuma Akhila Priya were elected to the assembly on YSR Congress ticket, but had, along with 17 other MLAs from the party, defected to the ruling party a year ago.

He also told Narasimhan that the petitions for disqualification of these MLAs were promptly filed with assembly Speaker but the party's periodical remainders went in vain.

Jaganmohan Reddy pointed out that on the last day of the recently-concluded budget session, the Speaker, while announcing the strength of various parties, showed these four MLAs along with 16 other defected members in the list of 66 members of YSR Congress.

He urged the Governor to uphold highest values of democracy by divesting these four MLAs of their ministry or insist on their resignations.